top of page

First semester of University

I haven't really given my student life a proper moment on my blog or really shared much of it with you so here's an update on how everything is going on that front. In case you haven't read my previous posts, I study Administration in the University of Tampere's faculty of business and management.

So this semester I've physically been at school for a grand total of... drumroll please… three times! It doesn't sound like a lot but I've actually managed to get a much larger amount of school work done than what I initially expected. Overall I finished the semester with 38 credits. That's a total of eight courses and I passed all but two with the highest possible grade. I wasn't quite expecting that either but to be fair I did put in quite a bit of work. Obviously I had no idea how much or how little studying was needed plus I didn't exactly have the regular student life distractions keeping me busy. And let me tell you, bus time=study time. Those hours did not go unwasted. To be honest, I am quite proud of how I've managed to keep up with my studies.

Here are all the courses I competed during my first semester (probably not the most accurate translations as some of these courses were in Finnish but you get the general idea):

IT skills, 3 credits

Introduction to the justice system, 5 credits

Introduction to public economic management, 5 credits

Introduction to international relations, 5 credits

Introduction to public law, 5 credits

Introduction to administrative science, 5 credits

Introduction to environmental and areal politic, 5 credits

Introduction to regional and areal management, 5 credits

So as you can see, all my studies so far have been introductory courses. Its very early but at the moment I think I find public law, administrative science and environmental and areal politics to be the most interesting. I did pick some further courses of public law for this semester so we'll see how it goes. Overall, I've really been liking the balance of school and volleyball. Especially this past month my studies have been vital to me as I haven't had much else to focus on (more on that later, I promise). Long story short, I've liked school. Hopefully it stays that way because it really makes studying easier.

x Jess

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page