top of page

A day at Uni

On Monday, I finally got to have my first proper school day (two months in to the academic year but whose counting). I absolutely love the campus and the atmosphere there is so refreshing. I can't really come up with a better word to describe it. Just being around so many other students and seeing them work is so inspiring. If I wasn't so in to volleyball and my dreams in sports, I'm sure I'd be spending the majority of my time at the University. Adding to that - as nothing in life is certain - it is nice to know that if something were to change with my sports career, I would have something else I'm also really ambitious and excited about.

I got to school a little before 9 am and started the day out with breakfast in the library building. After that, I headed to the library's silent study room. Believe when I say those chairs are the most comfortable ones you'll ever find! What's great about my university is the fact that you can find everything on campus. So around noon I went to the school gym for a quick workout and met up with Kristiina for lunch (we're in the same year). I was super lucky to have met her during the two days of orientation I attended in August because it helps a lot to have someone you know heping you out. We get along really well and have a lot in common which is probably why we became friends so quickly and have continued to keep in touch. I'm hoping she'll come visit me soon in Kuusamo!

After lunch I made my way to the office of Staabi (our program's student organization) and finally picked up my "haalari". Won't even try to translate that. My book exam in Global Politics wasn't scheduled until 4 pm, so I spent the rest of my spare time reviewing my notes.

I finished my exam at 7ish pm and I think I did okay. The area I had to study was really broad and enlight of that, I thought the questions were suprisingly specific. But I managed to get the required two essays down without too much trouble. The day was really long but rewarding and I'm really happy I had the chance to go due to some help from our playing schedule and flexibility from my coach.

As I'm writing this, I've settled back in to my apartment in Kuusamo and am very excited to start a new training week because we finally have a "normal" schedule. That is, a home game on Saturday instead of away or in the middle of the week. It really is the small things that can make you the happiest.

x Jess

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page