top of page

Volleyball update

So I know it has been a hot minute since my last post but time sometimes gets the best of me... I'm sorry! Anyhow we're getting to the good stuff now and with our home opener just around the corner, its time to talk volleyball.

Photo cred: Ballaphoto Roberto

Our season started on the 14th of October with an away match against Zesar VFM. They are a team from the French part of Switzerland so it ended up being about a four hour road trip from Lugano. Which i'm totally fine with since I spent all my weekends on the bus for basically two years straight while playing for Rovaniemi. We had a bit of a rocky start but pulled through in the end and managed to bring home a 2-3 W. I thought we showed good character as a team

because even though we weren't playing amazing, we still got the job done.

Photo cred: Jonathan Vallat

We were on the road again for our second match, this time in the German part of Switzerland against TS Volley Dudingen. This time we weren't ready to play whatsoever and got swept in three by the hometeam. Overall we just weren't performing well despite coming from behind in the third set and pushing the score to 27-25. In my opinion the loss of that set really described the general theme of the match. We couldn't make the decisive blows when it really counted. However it did show us that we can play level with the best teams of the league if we stay consistent and trust our own game.

Photo cred: Toma Gianbattista

Personally I was pleased with my own performance in the first match, where I really felt like I helped the team coming off the bench. Against Dudingen I think I could've done a much better job especially in passing, which is the most essential part of my game. Reception and deducing my personal errors is what i've really been focusing on this past week and i'm sure it will pay off tomorrow at our home opener against this year's Supercup winner Viteos NUC if i'm needed on the court. Whether or not you’re a starting player, the important thing in the end is that you help the team as much as you can. It doensn't matter how or how much you play as long as your team brings home the W.

x Jess

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page